These are the Connecticut state shipping regulations, limitations, rules and laws for trucking oversize and over weight loads on the roads and highways in the state of Connecticut.
If you would like to share your expertise with others please comment below.
Connecticut State Trucking Permit Regulations – Oversize Shipping and Transport.
Length: trailer 48’ (no limit for tractor)
Weight: GVW 80,000 lbs. if configuration complies with federal bridge formula.
Routine oversize shipping, trucking and transport permits.
*NOTE: We are not sure if there is anything considered “routine” as far as permits are in this state. They are real picky about issuing permits so nothing can be assumed, you must call and speak with them first. If you have any verifiable information to add to this please submit it below.
Length: 130′ is about the maximum and that depends on routing.
Width: 16′ wide is about the most allowed depending on intended route.
Height: 14′ – possibly more depending on your intended route.
Weight: single axle: 22,500, tandem: 45,000, tridum axles: 67,500, quadem: ?, 5 axles: 122,000, 6 axles: 130,000, 7 axles: 150,000, 8 axles: 160,000.
Notes: Drivable cranes (or self propelled) weight limits. Four axle cranes having a maximum GVW of 110,000 pounds: tandem axle cranes having a maximum of 60,900 lbs. and not more than 23 feet from the center of the first axle to the last axle. Five axle cranes maximum gross vehicle weight of 114,500 lbs. with no more than 30,000 lbs. on a single axle or 45,000 lbs on any tandem axles or 66,100 lbs on tridem axles. Six axle cranes a maximum gross vehicle weight of 115,000 lbs., with no more than 68,200 lbs on tandem axles. No more than 28′ from the center of the first axle to the last axle. Modular and mobile homes 16′ wide M-F travel only with travel time of 11:30 pm until 4:30 am as will be specified on the permit.
Pilot Car – when do you need them?
Width: Over 12’ wide 1 rear (or front and rear if undivided highway). Over 13’ 6” 1 front and one rear escort. Over 15’ 1 front and 2 rear
Height: Over 14’ 1 pilot car in front
Length: Over 80’ 1 pilot car in rear on undivided highway. If over 100’ one escort vehicle is required in the front and rear of the trailer on undivided highways. On divided only 1 rear is required. If over 119′ one in front and one in rear on undivided highways. Sectional or modular homes 16′ wide maximum. No pilot required until 10′ wide. If 10′ wide then one rear escort is required in undivided highways of if load is wider than lane. From 10′ wide to 13′ 6″ one rear on divided highways and one rear on undivided highways. Over 13′ 6″ in width requires on front and one rear on all roads. If over 80′ in length one rear escort is required on undivided highways. If over 85′ in length then one front and one rear is required on all routes.
Escort Car Requirements.
Your signs must be worded exactly: “Oversize load ahead” or “Oversize load following” depending on if you are leading or chasing. This sign must be a minimum of 48″ above the ground. Or sign must read: “Wideload ahead” or “Wideload following” or “Longload ahead” or longload following” depending on if the pilot car is leading or chasing. All signs mentioned here must have a minimum of 8″ black letters and be on a yellow background. Amber lights must be attached to the top of pilot car or escort vehicle and be visible for no less than 1,000 feet. Your light must either flash or rotate. You must be able to maintain communication with the driver of the load via 2-way radio at all times. You must have a red vest or jacket as well as a red hand flag no less than 18″ square. 18″ square flags are to be mounted on both front or rear corners of the vehicle. All escort vehicles must have a width of at least 60″ and 1 and 1/2 ton capacity for cargo.
Travel permitted ½ after sunrise to ½ hour after sunset. Loads over 13’6” wide or over 14’ high can travel only Tuesday through Thursday 9 am to 4 pm.
How to Apply for Permits.
Connecticut Department of Transportation (CDOT)
2800 Berlin Turnpike, PO Box 317546
Newington, CT 06131-7546
Office hours: 8am – 12:30pm and 1:30pm – 4pm EDT, M-F.
Basic permit is $23.00 plus a $3.00 charge for faxing the permit. Permit is valid for 3 days.
We’d love to hear from you. Do you have any ideas, questions, comments of concerns? Perhaps you have in-depth knowledge you can share with others. Please don’t be shy as we like to hear from our viewers and our viewers like to hear what others have to say so share it below!