Heavy-haul and oversize trucking quotes from hundreds of trucking companies in one click. Permits.
Heavy Haul Trucking and Oversize Trucking Quotes. Post to our loadboard. Trip permits and pilot cars.

Arkansas tire chain laws

Arkansas tire chain laws.

Below is the actual law affecting truck drivers in the state of Arkansas detailing tire chain law, restrictions and regulations.

Arakansas tire chain laws.

Arkansas state tire chain laws.

It is lawful to use metal studded tires with studs protruding not more than one-sixteenth inch (1/16”) from the surface of the rubber tread on motor vehicles operated on the public highways of this state during the period from November 15 of each year until April 15 of the following year. If the United States Congress shall enact legislation, or if any agency of the federal government shall adopt regulations prohibiting the use of metal studded tires on motor vehicles operated on the public highways, the provisions of this section authorizing the use of metal studded tires shall terminate. Thereafter, it shall be unlawful to use metal studded tires on vehicles operated on the public highways of this state at any time. It is unlawful for any person to operate any motor vehicle equipped with metal studded tires upon the highways of this state at any time other than the period prescribed. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than fifty dollars ($50.00). It shall be permissible to use tire chains of reasonable proportions upon any vehicle when required for safety.

27-37-401. Only pneumatic rubber tires permitted — Exceptions — Special permits. (a)(1) The wheels of all motor vehicles, including trailers and semitrailers, shall be equipped with pneumatic rubber tires. (2) Nonpneumatic or solid rubber tire mountings shall not be permitted. (b) No person shall operate or move on any highway any motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer having any metal tire in contact with the roadway. (c) No tire on a vehicle moved on a highway shall have on its periphery any block, stud, flange, cleat, spike, or any other protuberances of any material except rubber which projects beyond the tread of the traction surface of the tire, with the following exceptions: (1) It shall be permissible to use farm machinery with tires having protuberances which will not injure the highway; (2) It shall be permissible to use tire chains of reasonable proportions upon any vehicle when required for safety; and (3) It shall be permissible to use metal studded tires as prescribed in § 27-37-402. (d) The State Highway Commission and local authorities, in their respective jurisdictions and at their discretion, may issue special permits authorizing the operation upon a highway of traction engines or tractors having movable tracks with transverse corrugations upon the periphery of the movable tracks or farm tractors or other farm machinery, the operation of which upon a highway would otherwise be prohibited under this sub-chapter.

27-37-402. Metal studded tires lawful during prescribed period. (a) It is lawful to use metal studded tires with studs protruding not more than one-sixteenth inch (1/169) from the surface of the rubber tread on motor vehicles operated on the public highways of this state during the period from November 15 of each year until April 15 of the following year. (b) If the United States Congress shall enact legislation, or if any agency of the federal government shall adopt regulations prohibiting the use of metal studded tires on motor vehicles operated on the public highways, the provisions of this section authorizing the use of metal studded tires shall terminate. Thereafter, it shall be unlawful to use metal studded tires on vehicles operated on the public highways of this state at any time. (c)(1) It is unlawful for any person to operate any motor vehicle equipped with metal studded tires upon the highways of this state at any time other than the period prescribed in subsection (a) of this section. (2) Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than fifty dollars ($50.00).

Reference:
See also: chain laws, road closures, Arkansas state regulations.

Page 1 of 11