Heavy-haul and oversize trucking quotes from hundreds of trucking companies in one click. Permits.
Heavy Haul Trucking and Oversize Trucking Quotes. Post to our loadboard. Trip permits and pilot cars.

Posts Tagged requirements

2018 Kansas State Shipping Regulations

2018 Kansas state DOT shipping laws, rules, regulations and limitations for oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits. Pilot car requirements.

Please share your knowledge with other viewers below.

Kansas oversize shipping regulations

The great state of Kansas official seal

Kansas oversize permits, heavy-haul trucking companies and pilot cars.

Locate oversize, heavy-haul trucking companies and pilot cars.

Kansas oversize, heavy-haul and pilot car companies for hire.
Kansas oversize and heavy-haul trucking companies for hire.
Kansas oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits.


 

Do I need a trucking permit? Legal load limits.

Kansas maximum load limits until a trucking permit is required.

Length: Trailer may be no longer than 59 feet and 6 inches in length.  Overall length may not exceed 59 feet and 6 inches in length.
Width:  8 feet and 6 inches.
Height: 14 feet maximum.
Weight: 80,000 pounds gross vehicle weight (GVW).
Overhang: Provided the overall combined length does not exceed 59 feet and 6 inches it is legal.

Routine oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits.

These maximum dimensions/weights are considered routine oversize or heavy-haul trucking permits in Kansas:

Length:  Up to 126 feet overall depending on route. Turnpike restrictions: Any vehicle or combination of vehicles, trailer(s) or load(s) exceeding 125 feet in length requires pre-authorization by KTA. Night operation of these loads will not be authorized except in emergency or disaster situations. Tandem and triple trailers are discouraged – and may be restricted – during inclement weather.
Width: Up to 16 feet and 6 inches is a routine permit. Over  this width is a superload. Turnpike restrictions: Any vehicle or load exceeding 12 feet in width requires pre-authorization by KTA. Night operation of these loads will not be authorized except in emergency or disaster situations. Vehicles and/or loads more than 8 feet and 6 inches in width may not travel the Kansas Turnpike during the nighttime hours. Night operation of these loads will not be authorized except in emergency or disaster situations. Vehicles and/or loads exceeding 16 feet wide will rarely be authorized for any operation on the Kansas Turnpike.
Height: Up to 17 feet tall depending on routing (route survey required for some routes).  Anything over 17 feet is a superload. Turnpike restrictions: Vehicles and/or loads more than 14 feet in height will be denied entry until a Kansas Highway Patrol Trooper can measure the load to authorize or deny travel. Any vehicle or load activating an over height detector when entering the Kansas Turnpike is required to stop and cannot proceed until authorized to do so by a Kansas Highway Patrol Trooper.

Weight: Single axle 22,000 pounds, tandem axles 45,000 pounds, tridem axles 60,000 pounds, quadem axles 65,000 pounds.  Gross weight on 5 axles is 95,000 pounds, 6 axles 110,000 pounds, 7 axles 150,000 pounds, 8 axles 150,000 pounds. Any shipment over 150,000 pounds gross is a super load.

Kansas Superloads.

If you are in excess of any of the weights or dimension listed above in “routine” permit applicants must fill out a superload permit.

Lights, safety flags and warning signs for heavy haul and oversize loads.

Required safety markings, safety flags, warning lights for heavy haul and oversize loads:

The front of the truck and rear of trailer is required to have “Oversize Load” signs anytime a permit is issued. Red or orange safety flags must be attached to each corner of widest part of the shipment. This includes the rear of all over length loads. If overhang exists the item must be flagged as well as marked with warning lights on the rear. The truck must have a rotating or flashing amber light mounted at the very top that is visible from no less than 1,000 feet. Over weight only loads require “Oversize Load” signs. Signs for over-weight online will be covered at during night time travel. Sign dimensions should be a minimum of 7 feet wide and 18 inches in height with black letters no less than 10 inches in height on a yellow background.

When pilot cars or escort vehicles are required.

Heavy-haul or oversize loads may be required to be accompanies by a escort vehicle or pilot car if:

Length: If in excess of 90 feet overall you are required to have 1 rear/chase pilot car or escort vehicle.
Width: Loads over 14 feet wide, one front escort and one rear. 4 lanes or less may eliminate rear escort with amber light on the cab and rear or load.  Light must be at least 2 feet high from pavement and no more than 8’ from pavement.  Does not apply to super or over 4 lanes. Turnpike restrictions: At least one escort vehicle is required to accompany the movement of loads that are more than 14 feet wide.
Height: If over 17 feet tall you need a high pole escort.
Notes: Permits will state on them if they are valid for either 3 or 5 days. All signs, flags and amber lights must be either removed or covered when not in operation.

Pilot cars/escort vehicle certifications and requirements.

Pilot car or escort vehicle mandatory operator certifications and vehicle requirements:

Qualifying vehicles must be either a passenger vehicle or a pick up truck with a minimum width of 60 inches and a maximum weight rating of 1 ton. Maximum loaded weight may not exceed 12,000 pounds. Pilot car and escort vehicle operators must be 18 years of age minimum and have a valid drivers license. All pilot car or escort vehicles must have a “Oversize Load” sign either on top of the pilot car/escort vehicle or facing towards the front or the rear of the vehicle, which ever is applicable. Oversize Load signs must be a minimum of 5 feet in length and no less than 18 inches in height with a minimum of 8 inch letters that are black in color on a yellow background. Amber lights must be attached to the rood of the vehicle and ether rotate or strobe and be visible from no less than 1,000 feet. Any vehicle used for the purpose of escorting or piloting oversize loads must be fully insured in the state it is registered in. Equipment required is 1 standard 18 inch or 24 inch “Stop” and “Slow” paddle sign. 8 reflective triangles, 8 red road safety burning flares, 3 orange color 18 inch tall safety cones, 1 orange hard hat worn when outside of the vehicle, 2 amber flashing lights 6 inches or larger or one rotating or oscillating amber light. a first aid kit, 1 “OVERSIZE LOAD” sign, 1 spare tire, 1 jack and lug wrench, 1 safety colored orange vest or jacket, 2 – 12 inch (minimum) square red or orange hand-held flags and 1- 5 pound B and C fire extinguisher.
Notes: The “superload certification” certificate policy has been discontinued and you no longer need to be “certified” to operate a pilot car or escort vehicle in the state of Kansas. Research this further if you wish. All pilot cars or escort vehicles operating in the state of Kansas are required to have a copy of the Kansas pilot car manual in the vehicle at all times. All signs, flags, amber lights must be covered or removed when not in operation.

Mobile home transport laws.

Be certain you are aware of the KS Mobile home shipping regulations:

All mobile homes must comply with the length, height and width guidelines above. All mobile homes must be towed by a truck-tractor designed and equipped to tow mobile homes. Towing of more than one mobile home at any one time by a single power unit is not permitted. All movement of mobile homes must comply with state rules and regulations regarding flags, lights, signing and insurance requirements.

Legal travel times for oversize and heavy haul loads.

Travel times and restrictions for heavy-haul and oversize loads:

Travel is permitted 1/2 hour before sunrise and 1/2 hour after sunset 7 days a week. No night movements except for overweight only. Turnpike restrictions: Movement of vehicles that are more than 14 feet wide is restricted to Monday through Thursday between the hours of 8:30 am and 4:30 pm.

Lindemeyer heavy haul load.


Kansas DOT contact information and notes.

Kansas DOT (KDOT) office and permit contact information:

Kansas Commercial Motor Vehicle Permit Offices
915 Southwest Harrison Street
Topeka, KS  66612-1588
Telephone: 785-368-6501
Website: http://www.truckingKs.org
Hours: 7:30 Am until 4:45 PM
Central Standard Time

Kansas is a member of: MVCSHTO.
Notes: Kansas Turnpike Authorities: 316-682-4537 extension: 2202. Turnpike notes: Special permits from KDOT are not required to move oversize loads on the Kansas Turnpike. Movement of any oversize loads must comply with Kansas laws governing authority, insurance, lights, flags, signs, placards and safety equipment. It is the responsibility of the driver of any oversize vehicle and/or load to determine if the toll plaza has adequate space for the safe entry and exit of the vehicle and/or load. Movement of some or all oversize vehicles and/or loads may be temporarily restricted due to weather, road or construction conditions.

Kansas laws and publications:
Kansas HP rules and regulations
Kansas weight enforcement
KS pilot car and escort certifications

Kansas cities serviced.

 

Recent Posts

  • Alaska state rules and regulations.
    Alaska Shipping Regulations
    2018 Alaska DOT shipping laws, regulations, rules and limitations for oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits for pilot cars and trucking companies. Share your knowledge with others below.! Heavy haul trucking, pilot cars and permits. Locate heavy haul, oversize equipment shipping companies, pilot cars and ordering trucking permits in Alaska: Alaska heavy haul and oversize trucking company list. Alaska pilot cars. Alaska oversize trucking permits. Legal load limits. Length:  53’ Trailer Length Width:  8’6” Height: 14’...
  • Illinois State Shipping Regulations for oversize and heavy haul.
    Illinois State Shipping Regulations for oversize and heavy haul.
    Shipping laws, regulations, limitations and rules for shipping oversize and over-weight loads over the roads and highways in the state of Illinois. Please share your expertise or knowledge of Illinois state shipping regulations with other visitors below. Trucking and pilot car location system: Locate trucking companies and pilot cars in Illinois. Locate specialized trucking companies in Illinois. Locate pilot car companies in Illinois. Order oversize trucking permits. Legal load limits in Illinois. Illinois DOT legal...
  • free hot dogs
    2018 National hot dog day
    2018 National hot dog day. The term “Negative Nancy” is one we’ve all heard and are familiar with. A term most of us distance ourselves from but in reading about Loves Travel Stops free hot dog Wednesday the first thing you have to wonder is how much does that cost? If Loves is offering services to “factor” money to trucking companies (for a fee which is usually 2-4%) for fuel, freight bills, etc.  – why...
  • FMCSA news.
    Oh boy! The big FMCSA news.
    FMCSA releases a mandated “Corrective Action Plan” for the CSA program. Cutting through the commentary here are the nuts and bolts. The actions the FMCSA stated it will take in its 10 page corrective action plan will include: Moving forward to develop and test an IRT model. That model will be used to inform the agency’s work, with opportunities for public input. As recommended by NAS, if the new IRT model performs well, it will...
  • 2018 Arkansas State Shipping Regulations
    2018 Arkansas State Shipping Regulations
    2018 Arkansas state DOT shipping laws, rules, regulations and limitations for oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits. Pilot car requirements. Please share your knowledge of Arkansas state DOT trucking regulations with others below. Arkansas oversize permits, heavy-haul trucking companies and pilot cars. Locate oversize, heavy haul trucking companies, pilot cars and permits: Arkansas pilot cars and truck escorts for hire Arkansas oversize and heavy-haul trucking companies for hire. Arkansas oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits. Do I...
  • 2018 Arizona State Shipping Regulations
    2018 Arizona State Shipping Regulations
    2018 Arizona state shipping laws, regulations, rules and limitations for oversize and overweight trucking on state highways and roads. Please share your expertise of Arizona state DOT trucking regulations with other visitors below. As per the state of Arizona please read the following: “The Arizona Department of Transportation in cooperation with state representatives, industry, the Department of Public Safety  and local law enforcement personnel work in collaboration to update and amend oversize and overweight special...
  • trucking industry crunch
    Brokers may want to drive part time.
    Freight Brokers may want to start driving part time. With the demand for more truck drivers owners of trucking companies can now be more picky about who they haul for. The age old cry of freight brokers are crooks may be coming to an end as technology progresses. With demand for drivers and internet technology maturing in years to come the freight broker may be a job position of the past such as a “wheel maker” or...

The information contained in these pages is research information primarily for use by oversize and overweight trucking company drivers, dispatchers and pilot car companies. While every effort is put into maintaining the accuracy of this information you must absolutely verify this information with the Kansas State DOT Permits office before commencing movement.

 

kansas-state

 

2018 Georgia State Shipping Regulations

2018 Georgia state DOT shipping laws, regulations, rules, limitations, for oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits. 

Georgia

The great state of Georgia official seal.

Heavy-haul trucking and pilot cars.

Locate oversize, heavy-haul trucking companies and pilot cars.

Georgia pilot cars and truck escorts for hire.
Georgia oversize and heavy-haul trucking companies for hire.
Georgia state oversize and heavy haul trucking permits.



Do I need a trucking permit? Legal load limits.

Georgia maximum load limits until a trucking permit is required.

Length:  75 feet maximum overall combined including overhang. However, 60 feet maximum length on some routes.
Width: 8 feet maximum on some roads but on main highways and Interstates 8 feet and 6 inches is the maximum width.
Height: 13 feet and 6 inches.
Weight:  GVW 80,000 pounds overall combined. Single axle is 20,340 pounds, tandem axles is 34,000 pounds and tridem axles depends on the spacing  but is 20,340 pounds maximum on each axle in the configuration.
Overhang: Overhang in not detailed much by Georgia state DOT so if you are in excess of 60 feet in length overall combined we strongly suggest you contact the oversize permitting office by telephone below.

Routine oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits.

These maximum dimensions/weights are considered routine oversize or heavy-haul trucking permits in Georgia:

Length: Under 120 feet long was the old rule but as of 06/26/18 it seems there’s no limit on length if that is the only dimension over routine. Also a legal
Weight: Any single axle routine permit is 23,000 pounds, tandem axles is 46,000 pounds, tridem axles is 60,000 pounds, quadem axles is 92,000 pounds. Gross maximum routine permit weight limitations are: 5 axles 100,000 pounds, 6 axles 125,000 pounds, 7 axles 148,000 pounds, 8 axles 150,000 pounds. If over 150,000 pounds it’s a superload.
Width: 15 feet and 6 inches. However, on some routes 16 feet is permitted with 1 front pilot car and 1 rear escort. Mobiles and pre-fab homes are limited to 95 feet in length overall.
Height: Under 14 feet tall.
Overhang: This is a very odd state as far as overhang is concerned. Look below under superloads and try the actual state documentation or simply give them a call at the number listed below.
Notes: Georgia mentions a legal 53 trailer with no over all length restrictions on federal interstates and “STAA” designated routes. This isn’t real clear to our staff as no overhang limits would then be governed by maximum lengths. But with no maximum length if that is the only dimension that is over routine limits then we assume any length can be permitted. BE ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN TO ALWAYS REFER TO YOUR ACTUAL OVERSIZE TRUCKING PERMIT FOR ANY DISCREPANCIES.

Georgia superloads.

Georgia superload information:

Ultimately Georgia superloads are classified on a base-by-case basis if they exceed the maximum weights or dimensions mentioned above in “routine permits” however there are exceptions to the rules. We suggest for in-depth research you refer to: The Georgia state DOT laws for oversize and heavy haul trucking permits.

Legal travel times for oversize and heavy haul loads.

Travel times and restrictions for heavy-haul and oversize loads:

Georgia travel times unless otherwise stated on your permit are as follows; Monday thru Saturdays from one-half hour after sunrise until one-half hour before sunset Eastern Standard Time or Eastern Daylight time depending on spring or fall. No travel is permitted on Sundays unless stated on your permit. No movement is permitted on the following holidays: New Years Day, Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. I-285 is the boundary for Atlanta and travel within it is restricted and not permitted at all unless you are picking up or delivering within – if so travel times are not permitted from 6 AM until 9 AM and from 4 PM until 6 PM on weekdays M-F. Shipments in excess of 10 feet in width may not travel more than 55 miles per hour. Any permitted shipment that is in excess of 16 feet in width may only travel between 10 AM and and 3 PM in and around major cities. Any permitted shipment that is in excess of 12 feet in width may not travel under any circumstances if visibility is restricted to less than 600 feet or wind speed in in excess of 25 miles per hour.

Lights, safety flags and warning signs for heavy haul and oversize loads.

Required marking, safety flags, warning signs for heavy haul and oversize loads:

Any oversize or heavy-load must be clearly identified by the appropriate signs such as “OVERSIZE LOAD” OR “HEAVY-HAUL LOAD” or other variations that are specific. Signs must be mounted on the front of the truck and rear of item being transported. Sign dimensions must be no less than 6 feet wide and 12 inches in height. Sign must have a yellow background with black letters not less than 8 inches tall. Front and rear of oversize combination must be flagged with red or orange florescent flags 18 inches square. The power unit must be equipped with a amber light – note you must purchase a amber light permit to operate one in the state of Georgia.

When pilot cars or escort vehicles are required.

Heavy-haul or oversize loads may be required to be accompanies by a escort vehicle or pilot car if:

QUICK REFERENCE

Length:

  • 75 feet requires 1 pilot car or a 8 inch amber light at each rear corner.
  • 100 feet requires 1 pilot car or escort vehicle.
  • 125 feet and over requires 1 pilot car and 1 escort.

Width:

  • 12 feet to 14 feet and 8 inches requires 1 front and 1 rear escort. However, on some highways and designated routes amber lights may be used instead of a rear escort.
  • 14 feet and 8 inches up to 16 feet will require 1 front lead pilot car and 1 rear chase escort on 2-lane roads. 1 escort/pilot car may be used on interstates.
  • 16 feet in width will be determined on a case-by-case basis – refer to your permit.

Height: When over 15 feet and 6 inches in height you will be required to have a lead pilot car equipped with a height pole.

DETAILED VERSION

Length: Over 75 feet but less than 100 feet 1 rear escort of pilot car is required. Over 100 feet but less than 125 feet long requires 1 rear escort vehicle. Over 125 feet long requires 1 front pilot car and  1 rear escort vehicle.
Height: Over 15 feet and 6 inches requires 1 lead pilot car in front of truck equipped with a height pole.
Width: On 2 lane roads over 12 feet but less than 14 feet and 8 inches requires 1 rear escort vehicle behind the shipment.  On 2 lane roads over 14 feet and 8 inches but less than 16 feet wide requires 1 pilot car vehicle in front of the truck and 1 rear chase escort vehicle behind the load.  On 4 lane roads over 12 feet but less than 14 feet and 8 inches requires 1 rear escort vehicle.  On Interstates over 14 feet and 8 inches wide but less than 16 inches will require 1 chase rear escort vehicle.  Requirements for loads over 16 feet wide will be decided on a case-by-case basis.

Pilot cars/escort vehicle certifications and requirements.

Pilot car or escort vehicle mandatory operator certifications and vehicle requirements:

You must be certified (a good read) to operate a pilot car or escort vehicle in the state of Georgia (call: 888-262-8306). You must obtain a amber light permit ($2 fee 2 weeks in advance) in order to operate in the state of Georgia (call: 404-624-7211 for more information). Amber lights need to strobe and must have a minimum base size of 8 inches in diameter and be placed at the top of the vehicle. Of course newer light-bars are being accepted as pictured below. The minimum candle power rating is 35,000 or must be clearly visible from no less than 1/4 mile away. A front “OVERSIZE LOAD” sign (yellow background with 8 inch black lettering) that is no less that 6 feet wide and 1 foot tall is required to mounted on the front of all lead pilot car vehicles and on the rear of all chase escort vehicles. Pilot cars and escort vehicles are required to be equipped with 2-way communications and be in constant contact with all parties related to shipment being transported. Stop/slow paddle a minimum of 18 inches across. Safety helmet and safety vest/jacket that must be worn when exiting the vehicle. 9 yes 9 safety road triangles 17 inches tall. 8 road flares, 3 safety cones 18 inches tall, 5 fire extinguishers, first-aid kit, spare-tire, traffic wand flash-light with spare batteries. Vehicles used should either be a truck no less than 1/4 ton but no more than 17,000 pounds (GVW) or a passenger vehicle with no more than 2,000 pounds (GVW). Both sides of pilot cars must have a sign detailing the companies name and contact information visible from no less than 50 feet. Pilot cars are required to have a minimum of 2 red or orange safety colored flags mounted on the front or rear of vehicle no less than 18 inches square in shape. Passengers are not allowed with the exception of certified individuals in training status. No pets. All pilot cars and escorts must have headlights turned on low beam when operating and have lights on only when in operation (not when preparing to operate or pulled over in a turn out). Signs must be covered when not in operation. Oversize loads must pull over to allow for traffic to pass which is the only time it is appropriate to continue operating lights. Do not operate lights during pre-trip planning or any other time when not in full operation leading or chasing the shipment.

Metro pilot car service.


Georgia DOT contact information and notes.

Georgia DOT office and permit contact information:

Georgia Office of Permits and Enforcement
State Department of Transportation
935 East Confederate, Building 24, Room 401
Atlanta, GA  30316
Telephone: 800-570-5428
Hours: 7 AM until 4:45 PM
E-mail: ustruckerregulations@dot.ga.gov

Notes: Georgia requires that you sign their permit applications with blue ink only.
Reference: Georgia state DOT laws for oversize and heavy haul trucking permits.

Georgia cities serviced.

 

The information contained in these pages is research information primarily for use by oversize and overweight trucking company drivers, dispatchers and pilot car companies. While every effort is put into maintaining the accuracy of this information you must absolutely verify this information with the Georgia State DOT Permits office before commencing movement.

georgia-state

 

2018 Saskatchewan shipping regulations

2018 Province of Saskatchewan DOT shipping laws, regulations, rules and limitations for trucking company permits.

saskatchewan

Saskatchewan Province official flag.

Please share your knowledge of Saskatchewan Province shipping laws with other visitors below.

Locate oversize, heavy-haul trucking companies and pilot cars.

Saskatchewan oversize, heavy-haul trucking companies and pilot cars for hire:

Saskatchewan pilot cars and truck escorts.
Saskatchewan oversize and heavy-haul trucking companies for hire.
Order Saskatchewan oversize trucking permits.


Do I need a trucking permit? Legal load limits.

Saskatchewan maximum load limits until a trucking permit is required.

Legal Loads:
Length: 75 feet (22.86 meters) overall long. Trailer length maximum is 53 feet (16.1544 meters).
Width: 8 feet 6 inches wide (2.5908 meters).
Height: 13 feet 6 inches (4.1148 meters) tall.
Weight: 12,100 pounds (5488.4677 kilograms) on steer axle, 20,200 pounds (9162.5659 kilograms) on a single axle, 37,400 pounds (16964.355 kilograms) on tridem axles.
Overhang: Kingpin settings and trailer wheelbase positions are important.  Call to clarify.

Routine oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits.

These maximum dimensions/weights are considered routine oversize or heavy-haul trucking permits in SK.

Length: Since Saskatchewan Province has no said length restrictions your overall length approval will depend on your proposed route.
Width: No set maximums, depends on routing.
Height: No set maximums, depends on routing.
Weight: Saskatchewan is tough.  No single axles numbers, 48,000 pounds (21772.434 kilograms) on tandem axles, 72,000 pounds (32658.651 kilograms) on tridem axles, if you are over 60,000 pounds (27215.542 kilograms) on tridem axles prepare for a bridge survey as it will probably be required..
Overhang: No set limits, depends on routing.

Saskatchewan superloads.

Requirements for extra heavy or extra legal/dimensional (superloads) in SK.

Typically so we’re not publishing too much information a superload is defined by Saskatchewan Province as any shipment with weights and dimensions that exceed those published above in “Routine Permits”. There are exceptions but everything depends on proposed routing and road/weather conditions and if frost laws are in effect.

Required flags and markers for oversize/heavy-haul shipments loaded onto truck trailers.

Know how to mark your load and what signs are required by your permit.

Lights, flags and markers:
If over 120.078 inches wide (3.05 meters) you will need amber lights for night running and flags for daytime travel.  A WIDELOAD or “D” sign is required for all wideloads over 120.078 inches wide (3.05 meters) however a “OVERSIZE LOAD” banner is NOT allowed.  If you are moving at night any required banners must be illuminated with additional amber light in the center of the rear.  If over 10′ 9″ (3.2766 meters) wide the cab of the tractor must be mounted with an amber light.  If over 82 feet (24.9966 meters) long you MUST have a “D” sign or LONG LOAD banner mounted on the rear.  If not transporting a load you must cover ANY signs.

NOTES:  Lift axles are not permitted.  Flip axles can be used if trailer king pin to center distance is is less than 45′ 5″, the trailer is no longer than 53′ and the load is classified as NON DIVISIBLE.  A tractor wheelbase from the center of the steer axle to the center of the drive axle can not measure over 244″ unless you permit the load with a longer wheelbase AND IF they approve it.  This only applies to oversize permits and overweight will not be eligible.  A tridem drive tractor is NOT recognized by the Province of Saskatchewan except for moves that are large and NON DIVISIBLE, IF a tridem drive tractor IS allowed it MUST have a wheel base of no less than 260″ and no greater than 268″.  A spread axles trailer that has axles spacings of greater than 6′ is considered a single axle for weight calculations and is not allowed to carry more than a combined total weight of 20,000 pounds or 10,000 pounds per axle.  EXCEPT when in the case of when the object being shipped is NOT over 37,500 pounds loaded on the spread.  Please leave Saskatchewan experiences below.  This is a tough Province to get solid numbers out of and our viewers can use your experience to help them.

Will your shipment be delayed do to frost and thaw law restrictions?

Frost and thaw laws constantly change due to weather conditions in Saskatchewan. Find out if there in effect:

Saskatchewan Province does have spring weight restrictions and the roads and highways are dependent on conditions.  These restrictions usually apply to all secondary roads and not main highways.  Overall weight reductions may be imposed in some areas.  Check with Saskatchewan Province permit office for clarification.

Saskatchewan travel times and restrictions.

Make certain you don’t ship oversize or heavy-haul loads during restricted movement hours:

Travel times and restrictions:

Holiday restrictions vary, contact SGI permit office to see if you can travel or not.  Daytime travel only for loads over 82′ in length, 12′ 2″ in width and 16′ in height.  No movement is allowed on Friday after 3:00 pm from July 1 until Labor day.  Night time travel is permitted if under the above maximums but must have amber lights on all 4 outer most corners and reflective sign on rear indicating OVERSIZE or LONG LOAD.

When pilot cars or escort vehicles are required.

Heavy-haul or oversize loads may be required to be accompanied by a escort vehicle or pilot car if:

Length: If load is over 98′ on 2 lanes 1 rear pilot car (escort) is required.  If over 118′ in length 1 front and 2 rear pilot car (escort vehicle) is required.
Width: If a load goes beyond the center line of the road then 1 front escort is required.  If over 16′ 4″ wide you will be required to have 1 front and 1 rear escort.
Height: Up to the permit office depending on route.  If over 17′ 2″ in height you will be required to have a bucket truck travel with you.
Weight: For over weight shipments it looks like an escort vehicle will not be required.
Overhang: Case by case basis.  Contact permit office for clarification.

Pilot car and escort vehicle requirements.

Pilot car or escort vehicle mandatory operator certifications and vehicle requirements:

All pilot cars/escort vehicles must display a bumper or roof mounted “OVERSIZE LOAD” sign visible from both the front and rear of the vehicle. Sign must be at least 5′ long and 12″ in height, yellow in color with black letters no less than 10″ tall and 1 1/2″ in width. Vehicle must have 2 safety flags red or orange in color and be a minimum of 18″ of length and/or height mounted at a 40 to 70 degree angle on all 4 corners of the vehicle. Company identification signs must be placed on both sides of the pilot car (escort vehicle) displaying the name of the company, phone number and be placed on both the left and right hand sides of the vehicle. These signs must be no less that 8″ tall x 12″ wide and identity writing must be plainly legible. Vehicle must be equipped with a horizontally mounted rotating (or strobe) amber colored flashing light which must be visible from a 360 degree angle from a minimum of 500 feet. Vehicles must be equipped with a CB radio or 2-way communication device, 2 – 5 pound fire extinguishers type A, B and C, a sign with the word “STOP” on one side and “SLOW” on the other with dimensions of no less than 18″ in diameter with a minimum of 6″ letters. A red safety colored flag with handle no less than 18″ square, 3 reflective emergency road triangles or 18″ traffic cones, 2 OVERSIZE LOAD banners (yellow with black lettering) and a safety colored (red, orange, yellow or lime green) vest, jacket or shirt (used while directing traffic).

Saskatchewan Province DOT Trucking Information.

Physical address:
SGI
Over-dimensional Trucking Permits
2260 – 11th Avenue
Regina, SK  S4P 0J9

EmailCarrierSafetyPrograms@sgi.sk.ca
Help telephone line: 306-775-6969 or 800-665-7575
Fax: 306-775-6909
Hours: Monday – Friday 8:30 am – 4:30 pm
Central Time Zone.

Click here for the Saskatchewan DOT Website for oversize and over-weight hauling permits.
View Saskatchewan laws – detailed version revised 2010.
Saskatchewan truckers guide.
15771-WD901 Permit Guidelines

Saskatchewan cities serviced.

The information contained in these pages is research information primarily for use by oversize and overweight trucking company drivers, dispatchers and pilot car companies. While every effort is put into maintaining the accuracy of this information you must absolutely verify this information with the Saskatchewan Province DOT Permits office before commencing movement.

 

Saskatchewan Province road & highway conditions.
Saskatchewan Province permit offices.
Saskatchewan pilot car companies.
Saskatchewan trucking companies.
Federal bridge formula.
Frost thaw laws.

 

 

State Certifications for Pilot Cars & Escort Vehicles.

2018 State Certifications for Pilot Cars & Escort Vehicles. Which states require pilot car certification?

Some states require pilot car and escort vehicle drivers to be certified operators before operating within their jurisdictions. If you are considering operating a oversize load truck escorting service you will be required to have certain “certifications” in each of the following states. For details on each of the states requirements as of 2018 this is a great place to start your research.

Oversize load.

Typical oversize load that does not require a pilot car vehicle. However, shipments slightly wider may required a pilot car in some locations.

Arizona – Colorado – Florida – Georgia – Louisiana – Minnesota – Nevada – New Mexico – New York – Oklahoma – Virginia – Washington

The American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials (AASTO) in conjunction with the United States Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration released the National Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices,  specifically chapter 6(F) which applies to pilot cars and escort vehicles (also see; pilot car_and escort_best_practices_guidelines). Any escort vehicle or pilot car vehicle shall carry the following equipment items at all times when escorting a over dimensional, heavy haul or otherwise extra-legal shipment.

1. One two-way electronic communication device which enables the pilot car or escort to communicate directly with the driver of the extralegal shipment.
2. One 105 pound fire extinguisher or to 5 pound fire extinguishers.
3. One stop go paddle sign reflective for night movement no less than 18 inches across or tall with letters no less than 6 inches in height.
4. One night reflective safety orange vest shirt or jacket.
5. One handheld red flag no less than 18 inches square.
6. To oversize load banners that are yellow with black lettering (no minimum size specified. See below or state laws for state(s) working in.
7. One hardhat.
8. Three reflective triangles or 18 inch traffic cones.


We do strongly suggest any individual or company operating as a pilot car or escort vehicle be outfitted with the minimum requirements. For your convenience see the list below, or you may visit our pages on “Starting a new pilot car company“.

The basics:

  • 1 professional mileage book with room for notations and 1 journal book. Keep good logs and summary daily.
  • 5 – 36″ orange road cones with two strips of safety reflective tape at the top.
  • 5 – 12″ orange road cones (day use) with at least one safety reflective strip at top just in case (night use).
  • 1 – safety colored yellow or orange reflective safety jacket and 2 reflective safety vests.
  • 8 roadside reflective triangles no less than 16″ tall.
  • 1 dozen up to date flammable safety road flares. Write expire date in your journal book for later reference.
  • 4 red safety colored flags no less than 18″ square on 1/2″ wooden dowels.
  • 2 yellow signs reading “Oversize Load” no less than 12″ tall x 5′ wide with lettering 10″ tall and 1 5/8″ thick.
  • 1 – 2-way radio. We suggest a high quality CB radio with very high quality antenna.
  • 2 fire extinguishers. 1 – 2.5 lb and 1 – 5 lb dry chemical type or higher rating.
  • 1 safety colored red or fluorescent hard hat with reflective safety tape.
  • 1 very good all inclusive first aid kit. The more you spend the better. Familiarize yourself with everything.
  • Stop/Slow safety paddle sign no less that 24″ the same shape as a stop sign with a 5′ handle.
  • 2 flashlights that run on a minimum of 2 DC batteries with extra batteries.
  • 1 heavy duty set of jumper cables. The best pair you can buy.
  • 1 jump box with charge meter indicating level of charge. A jump box is an external battery used for starting vehicles.
  • Chains for all 4 wheels of your vehicle for snow covered passes or iced roads.
  • 2 two way radios fully charged with 2 fully charged batteries.
  • 1 GPS with good up to date quality mapping software that allows you to create way-points and also a good USA road atlas.

If you approach a state such as Louisiana, New Mexico or Utah which require pilot cars to stop and pay for a inspection at the port or entry (prior to leading or chasing a load) and you don’t have the minimum tools listed above, wave goodbye to your money and the permit as you’ll be denied and rightly so.  A pilot cars primary duty is to ensure the safety of the motorists. If you don’t have the basic tools required then you’re not deemed safe to operate in the capacity of a pilot car.  Below we will cover the specific details required by pilot car companies in order to become certified in the states that have certification requirements.

Details of State Certifications required for Pilot Cars. Which states require pilot car certification?

Oversize firetruck being shipped.

Firetruck being shipped with signs and flags.

If you are researching and looking for a list of the states that require specific pilot car certifications you have found it.  Below is the list of each state requiring special certification for pilot cars and escort vehicles as well as some details about the type of certifications that are required, where to obtain them, fees, etc. Please feel free to add any comments to share with others at the bottom of this page.

    1. Arizona.

      The state of Arizona does not observe daylight savings time. Arizona pilot car certification: the state of Arizona says that pilot car companies or escort vehicles must maintain a certificate of certification that verifies the pilot car and operator successfully completed a Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA) program. Arizona does recognize equivalency programs completed in other states however the pilot car or escort vehicle operator must file an application in order to operate within Arizona State jurisdictions. For more information contact the Arizona motor vehicles division at phone number: 602-771-2960 located at 1225 N. 25th Ave., Phoenix, AR 85009. Office hours are from 8 AM until 5 PM mountain time Monday through Friday. You can read more about the Arizona pilot car regulations, requirements, permits, etc. on our regulations pages.

    2. Colorado.

      The state of Colorado requires that pilot car or escort company operators have a Colorado State Certification card when working with in the Colorado state jurisdiction. Colorado does recognize certificates received from other states such as Florida, Oklahoma, Washington or Utah as well as the SC&RA. If you do not have any other state certificate endorsements you may contact RSA Network, Inc. by phone at: 801–838–8199 to inquire about testing for your Colorado State Certification. For more information about Colorado regulations, requirements, permits, etc. visit our regulations pages.

    3. Florida.

      The state of Florida requires that pilot car or escort companies operators have to have Florida State certification or FDOT authorization. The state of Florida does recognize programs completed bike pilot car drivers from the following states: Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin. In order to legally operate in the capacity of a pilot car or escort vehicle driver/company, you must obtain a certificate of completion by the Florida Department of Transportation pilot/escort training class. This class is offered by the Florida technology transfer Center. Inquiries by phone: 352-392-2371 or e-mail: 12assist@ce.ufl.edu. One portion of the Florida State Law requires successful completion of a National Safety Council 8 hour defensive driving course qualified by the state of Florida (or equivalent) by one of the above listed states as the same. So if you have already completed a similar course your credit may be transferable. Re-qualification is required every 4 years and this can also be done by contacting the University of Florida, PO Box 116587  Gainesville, FL  32611-6587.  You can read more about the Florida pilot car regulations, requirements, permits, etc. on our regulations pages.

    4. Georgia.

      The state of Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) requires pilot car or escort company operators to complete the Certified Escort Vehicle Program. In addition to this you are required to have a “amber light permit” when operating a pilot car or escort vehicle within Georgia state lines. If you obtain a “amber light permit” AND have completed a pilot car and/or escort vehicle certification program through any of the following states: Colorado, Washington, Oregon, Utah or Arizona you will more than likely be approved with proof of completion. The Georgia DOT also reciprocates directly with North Carolina, Florida and Oklahoma pilot car certification programs. If you have any questions for the Georgia Oversize Permit Unit you may contact them directly by phone: 888-262-8306.  You can also read more about the Georgia state pilot car regulations, requirements, permits, etc. on our regulations pages.

    5. Louisiana.

      All escort and pilot car operators who wish to travel through or work in the state of Louisiana are required to obtain a Louisiana Approved Escort Vehicle Permit. Escort vehicle operators and pilot car company operators can obtain a Louisiana state escort vehicle permit at Louisiana weigh stations. These permits can also be obtained online at www.dotd.la.gov. Look for the quick links section on the right-hand side of the webpage and click on truck permits. Once you’ve reached the permitting electronic routing bridge analysis selection then select submit application for annual permits and will get a list of annual permits on that page. The escort and pilot car vehicle permit portion will give you two options for submitting the application. You can submit it online or print the PDF form and fax the completed application to the truck permit office at: 225-377-7154. Any questions you may have pertaining to escort vehicle and/or pilot car driving permits and be addressed by calling: 800-654-1433 or 225-434-2345 and selecting option 1. You can also read more about the Lousiana state pilot car regulations, requirements, permits, etc. on our regulations pages.

    6. Minnesota.

      All escort vehicle and pilot car operators who wish to travel or work in the state of Minnesota are required to be certified. The good old state of Minnesota has two different types of escorts. Civilian escorts and peace officers. Learn the difference between the two. The state of Minnesota recognizes escort vehicle and pilot car operator certifications from the following states Colorado, Florida, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Utah and Washington state. Currently Minnesota requires drivers of pilot cars and escort vehicles to hold a current Minnesota State patrol certification. When working within this state all pilot car companies and escort vehicle operators must travel with a copy of their certification. If you are a escort vehicle or pilot car operator with certification already in the state of Colorado Florida North Carolina Oklahoma Utah or Washington you will be allowed to escort over dimensional loads within the state of Minnesota however you must have Minnesota insurance for the vehicle the driver the signage delighting and all safety equipment requirements must be met. For more information you can contact Erik Gohl at: 952-995-1346 fax: 952-995-1331 or visit their website:  www.hennepintech.edu/cts/pages/1233 who is the pilot car and escort driver class administrator at Hennepin Technical College,  customized training services located at: 13100 College View Dr., Eden Prairie, MN 55347. You can also read more about the Minnesota state pilot car regulations, requirements and permits on our regulations page.

    7. Nevada.

      All pilot car operators and escort vehicles who wish to work in the state of Nevada must be certified and also obtain a amber light permit. At the time of this writing (May 16, 2018) the state of Nevada Department of Transportation does not have any particular specific certification program for pilot cars. However they do have in place a rather lengthy amber light law. We would strongly suggest that anyone considering escorting loads through the state of Nevada obtain certification in another state with stringent laws such as Colorado, Washington, Oregon, Utah, Arizona, North Carolina, Florida or Oklahoma. You will still need a amber light permit to operate a escort vehicle or pilot car with in Nevada state jurisdiction. The amber light law basically states that it is unlawful for any person to mount a flashing amber warning light on the top of the vehicle without a permit from the Nevada Highway Patrol. The Nevada Highway Patrol will issue a permit to mount amber flashing lights on a vehicle upon written request. We suggest that readers such as yourself read our regulations page for the state of Nevada in order to research amber light specs such as how many times it flashes per minute and the distance its visible from. In addition to the amber light law if you anticipate stopping or slowing traffic you must comply to the stringent laws of Nevada state flagman. If it is necessary to warrant approaching traffic, each flagman must be wearing a solid florescent yellow or green material jacket or vest and equipped with a red flag and paddle readings stop in white letters with a red background. The sign must be a standard 18 inch two-sided stop and slow sign and be attached to a 5 foot pole. For further clarification on other items required please see our regulations page for trucks pilot cars and escort vehicles operating within Nevada state jurisdiction.

    8. New Mexico.

      All pilot car and escort vehicle operators working with in the state of New Mexico need to be inspected at the port of entry for a New Mexico certification inspection. You are required to approach the port of entry before any load you may be escorting reaches any scale house upon entry. Once pilot car or escort vehicle operators pull into the New Mexico port of entry you are subject to inspection. The officer conducting the inspection will require you to have two amber lights, oversize escort signs, a two-way radio, fire extinguisher, to outside rear view mirrors, the condition of the tires, three red flares and or reflectors, oversize escort signs and to florescent orange or red flags 12 inch in size or larger as well as a safety jacket and/or vest with a hardhat. The vehicle requirements are a minimum of 100 inch wheelbase, vehicle maximum capacity of 1 1/2 tons, a valid current drivers license and the terms of your insurance policy. Basically, you can expect a full on roadside intensive and thorough review of your vehicle and its equipment. For specific clarifications on vehicle specifications escort vehicle and pilot car operators should refer to our New Mexico state regulations page.

    9. New York.

      All pilot car and escort vehicle operators who intend to work within the state of New York must be New York State certified. To be certified as a escort or pilot car driver it is mandatory for all drivers as well as any persons acting as a flag person who intend on escorting oversize loads on the roads and highways within the state of New York regardless of where they reside obtain New York state certification. From the best of our knowledge no previous certification programs you may have completed will be accepted, credited or otherwise considered. For a list of New York Department of motor vehicle testing locations call 518-486-9748. For more information on getting certified or obtaining the New York certification manual you can call 418-457-1155 or 800-783-1685. We suggest also reading our New York state pilot car regulations, requirements, permits, etc. on our regulations pages.

    10. Oklahoma.

      All escort vehicles and pilot car operators who intend on working within the state of Oklahoma must be Oklahoma certified. The state of Oklahoma Department of Public Safety does recognize certifications and other states that do have a reciprocal agreement with the state of Oklahoma however if the operator of the pilot car or escort vehicle is a Oklahoma State resident they must have Oklahoma certification. The first order of business when operating a pilot car or escort vehicle within the state of Oklahoma is the certificate of insurance. Escort vehicle and pilot car vehicle operators must provide not less than $1 million of combined single limit or per occurrence or both of commercial liability coverage. Your insurance policy must protect the public against loss of life, bodily injury to persons and damage to property or bowls as a result of operating a escort vehicle or pilot car, or of the actions of the escort or pilot car vehicle operator or both. The state of Oklahoma will need to be listed as a certificate holder on your insurance certificate. In order to obtain your certificate from the department of public safety you will be required to take the course and the examination offered by the Oklahoma State University, phone 405-744-6049. The term of this certificate shall be for a maximum period of five years and will expire automatically after the date it was issued you can obtain more information on the certification training program by visiting: www.clgtokstate.com/escort.htm  or for more information about pilot car and  escort vehicle specifications please visit our Oklahoma state regulations page.

    11. Utah.

      All pilot car operators and escort vehicle drivers who intend on operating within the state of Utah must be certified and inspected at the Utah Port of Entry. Pilot car and escort vehicle operators who wish to obtain a authorized certification card may do so by participating in a authorized qualified certification program. A list of authorized instructors can be obtained by calling 801-965-4892. Pilot car and escort company drivers that live outside of Utah may operate as a certified pilot car or escort driver with another State certification credentials provided that the course meets the minimum requirements outlined in the Utah pilot car and escort vehicle training manual the department may decide to enter into a reciprocal agreement with other states provided these other states can demonstrate that their course materials are comprehensive and meet the minimum requirements outlined by the Utah Department of Transportation. Such agreements already exist with the Utah Department of Transportation recognizing the states of Washington, North Carolina, Colorado, Oklahoma and the state of Florida. Any pilot car or escort driver certifications expires four years from the date the certificate was issued and it is is the responsibility of the driver to maintain current certification as well as a minimum amount of insurance coverage of $750,000 for liability insurance.Upon entering the jurisdiction within the state of Utah it is strongly advised that you have a certificate of completion that is valid and current with any of the above mentioned states. You are required to stop at the port of entry when entering Utah state jurisdiction. For more detailed information about Utah state pilot car and escort vehicle requirements please visit our regulations page.

    12. Virginia.

      The state of Virginia does require that all pilot car and escort vehicle operators be certified prior to performing the duties of a oversize or overweight load pilot or escort vehicle operator within the Virginia state jurisdiction. The state or Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) does recognize certification programs completed by applicants from the following states: Florida, Georgia, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Utah and Washington however you must still apply for escort/pilot car operator  certification from the Virginia DMV. It is important for pilot car and escort vehicle operators to be aware they are required to carry their certification document from the state of Virginia with them while escorting any type of oversize or overweight vehicle configurations. You must have a valid drivers license as well. If you are requested by law enforcement or the Department of Transportation enforcement officials you must provide them with certificate program completion documentation. Failure to do so while escorting or piloting in oversize configuration will cause the shipment to be delayed until the appropriate documents are in place or another company with documentation replaces you. For more detailed information about Virginia state pilot car and escort vehicle requirements please visit our regulations page.

    13. Washington.

      And finally last but not the least of our 2018 State Certifications for Pilot Cars & Escort Vehicles update is the state of Washington. The state of Washington Department of Transportation does require pilot car and escort vehicle operators to be certified by them. They recognize programs and certificates from the states of Utah, Florida, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Colorado however pilot car and escort vehicle operators who desire to operate withing the state of Washington’s jurisdiction must be issued a official Washington state certificate. You can contact pilot/escort, flagging instructor Michael Blackman at: 509-684-7632 or contact the Washington state Pilot Escort official Jim Wright at: 360-704-6345 or you may visit the official state information page at: www.wsdot.wa.gov/commercialvehicle/ If you would like more detailed information about Washington state regulations, requirements, permits, etc visit our regulations page.

pilot_car_required

Pilot cars or escort vehicles will be required to move a shipment of this size. Some states may require special certification.

State requirements for pilot cars and escort vehicles change from time to time.

It should be noted that state requirements for pilot cars and escort vehicles do change from time to time. The purpose of this page is to provide you with updated information that includes the rules and regulations of the states that do require pilot car drivers and escort vehicle drivers to have special certifications. It should be noted this page was written as a basic guide for pilot car companies and escort vehicle operators to use when researching which states do require certification. We strongly suggest if you are considering operating and any state under the capacity of a pilot car or escort that each state you intend on working in be contacted directly by you before entering that state. Also, in addition to state certifications and requirements always refer to the instructions on the actual permit issued from the state for that particular over dimensional or heavy haul load. The permit should list all responsibilities and detail as well as clarify any additional questions you may have during transit. In closing, remember as a escort vehicle driver or pilot car operator your number one job is public safety.

 

Other interesting information pertaining to pilot cars:

  • Alaska state rules and regulations.
    Alaska Shipping Regulations
    2018 Alaska DOT shipping laws, regulations, rules and limitations for oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits for pilot cars and trucking companies. Share your knowledge with others below.! Heavy haul trucking, pilot cars and permits. Locate heavy haul, oversize equipment shipping companies, pilot cars and ordering...
  • Illinois State Shipping Regulations for oversize and heavy haul.
    Illinois State Shipping Regulations for oversize and heavy haul.
    Shipping laws, regulations, limitations and rules for shipping oversize and over-weight loads over the roads and highways in the state of Illinois. Please share your expertise or knowledge of Illinois state shipping regulations with other visitors below. Trucking and pilot car location system: Locate trucking...
  • free hot dogs
    2018 National hot dog day
    2018 National hot dog day. The term “Negative Nancy” is one we’ve all heard and are familiar with. A term most of us distance ourselves from but in reading about Loves Travel Stops free hot dog Wednesday the first thing you have to wonder is...
  • FMCSA news.
    Oh boy! The big FMCSA news.
    FMCSA releases a mandated “Corrective Action Plan” for the CSA program. Cutting through the commentary here are the nuts and bolts. The actions the FMCSA stated it will take in its 10 page corrective action plan will include: Moving forward to develop and test an...
  • 2018 Arkansas State Shipping Regulations
    2018 Arkansas State Shipping Regulations
    2018 Arkansas state DOT shipping laws, rules, regulations and limitations for oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits. Pilot car requirements. Please share your knowledge of Arkansas state DOT trucking regulations with others below. Arkansas oversize permits, heavy-haul trucking companies and pilot cars. Locate oversize, heavy haul...
  • 2018 Arizona State Shipping Regulations
    2018 Arizona State Shipping Regulations
    2018 Arizona state shipping laws, regulations, rules and limitations for oversize and overweight trucking on state highways and roads. Please share your expertise of Arizona state DOT trucking regulations with other visitors below. As per the state of Arizona please read the following: “The Arizona...
  • trucking industry crunch
    Brokers may want to drive part time.
    Freight Brokers may want to start driving part time. With the demand for more truck drivers owners of trucking companies can now be more picky about who they haul for. The age old cry of freight brokers are crooks may be coming to an end as technology...

 

Washington D.C. Shipping Regulations

2018 Washington D.C. Shipping Regulations.
Washington D.C. district seal

 

Trucking weight limitations.

Single axle: 31,000 lbs. per axle.
Tandem axles: 31,000 lbs. per axle.
Triple axles: 31,000 lbs. per axle.
Quad axles: 313,000 lbs. per axle.
Maximum weights are considered on a case by case basis. They will determine if you are eligible (considering proposed routing) at the time you apply for your permit. No single axle will be permitted to exceed 31,000 lbs.

Truck length limitations:

If you propose to move any shipment with a length that is in excess of 56 feet, you may be required to travel during night time hours only. Again, this is considered on a case by case basis. Any load that exceeds 80′ (feet) will be required to have a front (lead) pilot car (escort vehicle).

Truck width limitations:

Maximum width for legal travel is 8′ 6″. Anything in excess of 8’6″ (inches) in width will be decided on a case by case basis (considering proposed routing). Shipments that are in excess of 12′ (feet) in width will be required to have a lead pilot car vehicle.

Truck height limitations:

Truck height limitations are determined by the overhead clearance of any obstructions that may exists (or are proposed; temp, construction, etc) in the routing proposition you propose. Planning a route that gives you a minimum of a 6″ (inch) clearance is suggested. Any shipment that is in excess of 13′ 6″ (feet/inches) will be required to have a pilot car (escort vehicle) equipped with a height pole

Truck overhang limitations:

If overhang is in excess of 10′ (feet) from the rear of the trailer you will be required to have a lead vehicle as well as a chase.

Truck signs and flag requirements:

Shipments that are in excess of 8′ 6″ (feet/inches) are required to have “wideload” signs affixed to the front and rear of the truck and trailer. No flags are “required”. There are no sign size/letter specifications in the Washington D.C. laws but note they should be professionally printed signs.

Notes:

If you are in a situation where you have excess (extreme) widths and/or heights you will more than likely be required to travel during night time hours.

Pilot car (escort) vehicle requirements (PiloTrac):

No particular type of vehicle is specified in Washington D.C. laws. However, we do suggest a minimum wheel base of 72 inches. Pilot cars (escort vehicles) will be required to have a amber flashing (rotating) light mounted on the very top of the vehicle. We would suggest pilot cars have the minimum requirements by other states such as: slow/stop paddle, professional wide, oversize, long load signs, company name, address and phone on the side of vehicle, flares, safety vest, CB radio and a height pole if the shipment you intend on escorting is in excess of 13′ 11″.

Travel times and restrictions:

Travel is permitted 24 hours a day unless you are in the extreme excess as noted above in height, width and length. Shipments that are wideloads or overheight or over length may be restricted to travel between 10 pm and 5 am. If so you will not be permitted to travel from 7am til 9:30 am and 4 pm til 6:30 pm. During extreme weather conditions travel may be restricted. Weekend travel is allowed as well as weekends. The Washington D.C. permitting office will be closed on the following holidays: New Years Day, Martin Luther King Day, Lincoln’s Birthday, Washington’s Birthday, Goof Friday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Veteran’s Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day.

 

Washington District of Columbia Department of Traffic
2nd floor, Potomac Bldg.
614 H Street, NW
Washington, DC  20001

Office hours: 9 am to 3 pm EDT
Phone: 202-442-4670
Website: http://www.EEOT.EC.gov

 

Washington D.C.flag.

2018 Minnesota State Shipping Regulations

2018 Minnesota state DOT shipping laws, regulations, rules, limitations for oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits.

Minnesota

Heavy-haul trucking and pilot cars.

Minnesota oversize, heavy-haul and pilot car companies for hire:

Minnesota pilot cars and truck escorts for hire
Minnesota oversize and heavy-haul trucking companies for hire.
Minnesota oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits.

 



Do I need a trucking permit? Legal load limits.

Minnesota maximum load limits until a trucking permit is required.

Length: Trailers no longer than 53 feet on designated highways.  All other roads 53 feet.
Width:  8 feet and 6 inches.
Height: 13 feet and 6 inches.
Weight: 80,000 pounds GVW, 20,000 pounds on a single axle, 23,000 pounds on tandem axles with spread limited to 20,000 pounds, 20,000 pounds on tridem axles, quadem axles is 18,000 pounds maximum.
Overhang: 3 feet in the front and anything over 4 feet in the rear must be red flagged in the day and red light at night.

Routine oversize and heavy-haul trucking permits.

These maximum dimensions/weights are considered routine oversize or heavy-haul trucking permits in Minnesota:

Length:  Combinations overall length over 75 feet requires a permit. Single vehicles that exceed 45 feet require a permit. Anything under 130 feet long is considered routine.
Weight:  Single axle 20,000 pounds, 40,000 pounds on tandem axles (46,000 pounds with a bridge check), tridem axles 60,000 pounds, quadem axles 72,000 pounds,  trunion axles 60,000 pounds. Gross weights: 5 axles 92,000 pounds, 6 axles 112,000 pounds, 7 axles 132,000 pounds, 8 axles 144,000 pounds. Over 150,000 pounds is a superload.
Width: Figure up to 14 feet to 16 feet as a routine permit. Anything over 16 feet wide man have routing issues and require a route survey.
Height: Over 13 feet and 6 inches requires a permit. Up to 14 feet is easy, then at 15 feet and 6 inches route restrictions start to apply. If over 15 feet and 6 inches you have the pleasure of paying for a route survey unless it’s an easy short run then you may wiggle out of it.
Notes: Farm equipment operating at less than 30 miles per hour may be exempt. Utility poles may be exempt. Heavy-haul loads have to deal with frost laws. Visibility from inclement weather can side-line you as well.

Minnesota superloads.

What constitutes a superload in Nebraska:

Superloads in the state of Nebraska are defined as any shipment in excess of the above weights or dimensions described above in “routine”.  Also see: Laws for Minnesota state oversize and heavy-haul.

Legal travel times for oversize and heavy-haul loads.

Travel times and restrictions for heavy-haul and oversize loads:

Travel times are primarily from 2 AM until 10 PM except for holidays.  Some areas have rush hour restrictions 7:30 AM to 8:30 AM and 4:00 PM to 5:30 PM so check your permit as any applicable restrictions will be listed on it. For heavy-haul loads there are spring restrictions that start usually late in February and usually end and the end of May. Night time travel is simply defined as local times of sunrise and sunset. The state of Minnesota observe Central standard Time.

Lights, safety flags and warning signs for heavy haul and oversize loads.

Required marking, safety flags, warning signs for heavy haul and oversize loads:

Signs: Oversize load signs will need to meet the following requirements: be constructed of a rigid material or mounted on a flat surface that ensures the sign will remain flat and clearly legible to all approaching traffic. Warning signs must be a minimum size of 18 inches tall and 84 inches wide. The background of all signs must be yellow in color with the letters OVERSIZE LOAD”printed on them with a clear font that is no less than 10 inches tall and 1 and 3/8ths of an inch thick and black in color. The sign panel shall be lighted when ever use during night time transport. Whenever lighting a sign it must be an a manner that illuminates it well enough to be seen from a distance of no less than 500 feet. Any oversize load that is in excess of 12 feet wide requires oversize load signs. Oversize load signs are required on all vehicles and shipments that exceed 95 feet in length. All signs will need to be legible, clean and in good condition whenever used. The appropriate and applicable sign will need to be mounted on the roof of the escort vehicle (not on the bumpers) whenever a escort vehicle or pilot car is required. Oversize load signs will need to be mounted on the cab of the truck that is towing the shipment and on the rear of the trailer that is hauling the shipment and installed no less than 5 feet above the pavement. Signs will need to be displayed when escorting or moving a oversize load. The oversize load sign shall be required on any oversized loads with multiple dimensions. “WIDELOAD” and “LONG LOAD)” signs must be used on escort vehicles, whichever is applicable. Signs will not be permitted to extend beyond the width of the fenders of the vehicle more than 6 inches to the left or the right of pilot car vehicles. The Minnesota DOT may even require additional signs if they determine that it is necessary.
Flags: Flags are required to be used on any projection(s) that extend more than 3 feet beyond the front bumper or 4 feet beyond the rear of the truck bed of any semi-trucks or when any loads exceeds 9 feet wide and or 65 feet long. Flags must be either safety fluorescent red, yellow or orange and be no less than 18 inches square. They must be securely attached to all extremities of overhang whether on the front the rear and at the corners at the widest point so they are clearly visible to approaching motorists.
Warning lights: warning lights are required when traveling during night hours and must be visible from a distance of no less than 500 feet on a clear day. Simultaneously flashing warning lights will need to be spaced as far apart from each other as possible and are required on the front and rear of the shipment and have a flash rate somewhere between 60 and 90 flashes permit. Lenses on all warning lights must be a minimum of 4 inches in diameter or have a minimum lense surface area of 12 and 1/2 inches. Instead of a pair of warning lights that flash simultaneously either one or more strobe lights or rotating lights may be permitted.

When pilot cars or escort vehicles are required.

Heavy-haul or oversize loads may be required to be accompanies by a escort vehicle or pilot car if:

Length: 95 feet to 110 feet 1 pilot car or escort vehicle on the rear. Over 110 feet requires 1 front escort and 1 chase pilot car.
Width: Loads over 12 feet and 6 inches most of state roads requires one (but not all), 14 feet and 6 inches to 16 feet require 1 front pilot car and 1 rear escort on non-divided highways but only 1 rear on divided highways.  Over 16 feet wide and they will require 1 lead pilot car and a Police/LPA on the rear. On less than 4 lane roads 1 front pilot car is required and on 4 lanes 1 rear escort is required.  Up to 15 feet wide at which point a second escort is required. 18 feet or wider requires a police escort.
Height: If over 14 feet and 6 inches in height you may be required to have a high pole depending on route..
Note: Permits will state on them if they are valid for either 3 or 5 days.

Pilot cars/escort vehicle certifications and requirements.

Pilot car or escort vehicle mandatory operator certifications and vehicle requirements:

The state of Minnesota has two different types of pilot cars/escorts.

“Civilian” escorts/pilot cars and “Peace Officer” escorts/pilot cars. Let’s learn about the two types first.

Civilian escorts/pilot cars: A civilian escort is an individual with a valid drivers license and a valid certification from Minnesota state DOT which has reciprocal agreement (MVCSHTO) with the following states: Colorado, Florida, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Utah and Washington state. Operators must be a minimum of 18 years old and in a properly equipped automobile or pickup truck. This agreement allows other civilian escorts (pilot car operators) certified in participating states to operate in each other.
Peace officer escorts: A peace officer escort is a Minnesota state licensed peace officer using a state authorized emergency vehicle displaying red and/or blue lights. A peace officer escort is the only type of escort permitted that has the ability to require on-coming traffic to yield to the right of way whenever an oncoming wide load encroaches over a 2 lane road center-line. A peace officer escort or pilot car will be required whenever a loaded trucks width extends over the roadway center-line and into on-coming traffic or whenever a loaded truck dimensions require the truck to travel in the wrong lane of the roadway. The Minnesota DOT has determined if extreme hazards exist a peace officer escort or pilot car is the most reasonable solution to maintain road safety for motorists. The carrier must arrange for peace officer escorts or pilot cars whenever they are required whether it is specified on the permit or not. Any time a shipment may potentially cross over the center-line a peace officer escort or pilot car is required.
Civilian escorts/pilot cars continued: Pilot car and escort vehicles can be either a pickup truck, SUV, van, or a passenger vehicle that is in good operating condition and is properly equipped. The driver of a pilot car or escort vehicle must be a minimum of 18 years of age and have a valid drivers license. No pilot car or escort vehicle is permitted to tow any type of trailer or other vehicle when operating in the capacity of a escort or pilot car driver. A pilot car or escort vehicle operator is not permitted to perform any other duties other than operating the vehicle. If a rear steer is needed or a remote is being utilized the operator of the pilot car or escort vehicle is not permitted to take part in any of these operations. All escort vehicles and pilot cars are required to be equipped with a wide load or long load sign that shall be displayed on the top of the vehicle. This sign must be clean clear and visible to all traffic. Rotating strobe being or flashing amber lights are required to be installed in the center of the roof of the vehicle and not be obstructed by any other signage. Multiple lights may be used provided they are not obstructed by anything and should be placed on the far right and left hand sides of the upper portion of the vehicle. A pilot car operating in the capacity of a lead vehicle will need to proceed the shipment by a minimum distance of 300 feet and no more than 700 feet. Rear escort vehicles or chase vehicles must follow the shipment at a close safe distance that clearly identifies it as part of the escorted shipment. Convoys are not permitted unless specifically authorized by the Minnesota state DOT.

Long load.


Minnesota DOT contact information and notes.

Minnesota DOT office and permit contact information:

Minnesota Administrative Truck Center
395 John Ireland Boulevard
St. Paul, MN 55155
Telephone line: 651-296-6000
Hours: Monday – Friday 8:30 AM – 3:00 PM (closed from Noon until 1 PM).
Website: www.dot.mn.gov
Central Standard Time
Notes:
Minnesota is a member of the MVCSHTO agreement.

Minnesota cities serviced.

 

 

The information contained in these pages is research information primarily for use by oversize and overweight trucking company drivers, dispatchers and pilot car companies. While every effort is put into maintaining the accuracy of this information you must absolutely verify this information with the Minnesota State DOT Permits office before commencing movement.

 

 

minnesota-state

 

 

Illinois State Shipping Regulations for oversize and heavy haul.

Shipping laws, regulations, limitations and rules for shipping oversize and over-weight loads over the roads and highways in the state of Illinois.

Illinois

The great state of Illinois official seal.

Please share your expertise or knowledge of Illinois state shipping regulations with other visitors below.

Trucking and pilot car location system:
Locate trucking companies and pilot cars in Illinois.

Locate specialized trucking companies in Illinois.
Locate pilot car companies in Illinois.
Order oversize trucking permits.



Legal load limits in Illinois.
Illinois DOT legal load size & weight limitations.

Legal Loads.
Length:  65’ overall length maximum.
Width: 8’6” on interstate and other designated highways, 8’ on non-designated highways.
Weight:  GVW 80,000,  Single 20,000, Tandem 34,000,   Tridem 42,000
Height:  13’6” is the maximum allowed height for legal loads.
Overhang:  3’ front in the front and 3’ off of the rear of trailer.

Routine oversize shipping, trucking and transport permits.
Oversize and overweight trucking permits that are routinely issued by the state of Illinois.

Length:  Up to 145’ long. Anything longer see superload section below.
Weight:  Single 24,000, tandem: 48,000, tridum: 60,000, Quadem: 60,00 gross, 5 Axles 100,000 lbs., 6 Axles 120,000 lbs., 7 axels: 120,000, 8 axles: 120,000 lbs.
Width: 14’6” (any load over 16′ will require special admin approval before permit is issued).
Height: 15’ (any load over 16′ tall requires a route survey).

Superload information:
Illinois DOT superload information.

Length: Any load that is longer than 145′ is considered a superload.
Width: Any load that is in excess of 14′ 6″ in width is considered a superload.
Height: Any load that is in excess of 15′ 6″ in height is considered a superload.
Weight: Any load that exceeds 120,000 lbs on any standard axle configuration whether it’s a 6,7 or 8 axle configuration or not is considered a superload.
Overhang: Contact them as this varies depending on route.
Notes: Spacing between steer and first tandem must be more than 8′ 1″. The spacing before the first axle and the trailer must not exceed 18′ 6″.  All axle spacings combined must not be less than 43′ 6″. Superload permit processing times vary. Expect delays. Before requesting a route you are expected to do as much research on your own as possible. They will refer you to: GettingAroundIllinois for construction zones and other closures. 

Permitted travel times and restrictions in Illinois:
Illinois travel times and restrictions for oversize loads.

Travel is permitted from ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset  Monday thru Friday and ½ hour before sunrise until 12PM on Saturdays. Loads that are overweight only may travel 24/7 on all days of the week (make certain it is not documented otherwise on your permit before doing so). No travel is permitted on Sundays unless you are below the routine permit standards of no more than 115′ in length, 12′ in width, 13′ 6″ in height (sunrise to sunset rules apply).  No movement is permitted on the major holidays: New Years Day, Memorial Day, Independence day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day. Travel stops at 12PM on the day before any of these holidays. The Illinois oversize load permit office is closed on MLK Day, Lincolns birthday, Washingtons birthday, Columbus Day, Election Day, Veterans Day and on the day after Thanksgiving. However, travel is not restricted on these days. Always refer to your permit for approved travel times.

Required shipment, truck and trailer markings:
Truck, trailer and shipment required signs, banners and flags.

A rotating amber light must remain on at all times mounted on top of the cab and be visible from 360 degrees from a minimum of 500′ in direct sunlight. If your overall length is more than 80′ in length you are required to have one amber light over the cab of the truck and one amber light no more than 10′ from the rear of end or trailer/load at the highest point that is practicle. Oversize load signs must be a minimum of 7′ in width x 18″ in height, have a yellow background color with black lettering no less than 10″ in height x 1″ thick – we have recently heard 12″ tall x 2″ thick so please clarify and comment below if you know which is correct. Flags are required at all 4 corners of the load and front of truck and are to be safety red in color and no less than 18″ square. Shipments over 75′ in length, 10′ in width or 14′ 6″ in height are required to have signs. Signs must be placed on the front and rear extremities of the truck, trailer or load.

When pilot cars are required:

Length: If over 110′ in length you are required to have a minimum of 1 pilot car and in some places 2 pilot cars (higher traffic density or certain times of year). If over 145′ (150′ in some very rural areas) in length you are required to have 3 pilot cars –  yes 3. If over 175′ in length a police escort will be required.
Width: Up to 14’6” requires 1 pilot/escort vehicle. Over 16’ requires 2 pilot/escort vehicles. Over 18′ in width will require a police escort. 
Height: Up to 14’ 6” 1 pilot/escort vehicle, over 16’ requires 2 pilot/escort vehicles. Over 18′ in height will require a police escort.
Weight: No requirements as long as you can maintain minimum speeds. However on bridge moves that require all other vehicle traffic to be removed will required appropriate number of pilot cars which is a minimum of 2 and possibly 3 with police escort. All areas are different and require evaluation.
Note: If you exceed any two dimensions, then you are required to have an additional pilot car. So if you’re over 14′ 6″ tall and 14′ 6″ wide you would be require to have 2 pilot cars.  

Required pilot car certifications:

Cars, vans or trucks may be used as long as gross weight of pilot car vehicle is rated at no more than 8,000 lbs. Pilot car driver must be 18 years of age minimum with a valid regular drivers license. Pilot cars must have a rotating or flashing amber light mounted on the top of the vehicle (no specs as of time of writing 2014). Must display red flag at all 4 outer most points of the vehicle and have “OVERSIZE LOAD” signs that are a minimum size of 5′ wide x 12″ tall and have black lettering no less than 8″ in height. Must have radio and be in constant communication with the driver transporting the shipment at all times. Must have $500,000 per occurrence combined insurance that covers property and body.

How to apply for trucking permits:

Illinois Department of Transportation – DOT
Bureau of Traffic, 2300 S Dirksen Parkway
Springfield, IL  62764

Email: dot.permitoffice “at” illinois.gov
General inquiry phone: 217-782-6273
Phone: 217-785-1477 or 800-252-8636 within the state.
Fax: 217-728-3572

Note: Fee varies depending on dimensions and miles traveled. Permit is valid for 5 days.

Hours: from 8 AM until 4:30 PM

Central Time Zone

 

The information contained in these pages is research information primarily for use by oversize and overweight trucking company drivers, dispatchers and pilot car companies. While every effort is put into maintaining the accuracy of this information you must absolutely verify this information with the Illinois State DOT Permits office before commencing movement.

illinois-state

Page 1 of 11