Close this search box.
Shipping Quote in Sub Header

2024 British Columbia Winter/Spring Frost Law Restrictions

Shipping Quote Minified - Header & Homepage

2024 British Columbia Winter Frost/Spring Thaw Laws and Seasonal Weight Restrictions

The British Columbia Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure maintains a frequently updated database that posts frost law notices and seasonal load restrictions by region. Depending on the region, weight restrictions may already be in place, while others are scheduled to take place imminently.

NEW: Get on the e-mail notification list to be notified of seasonal load restriction changes for the following areas in British Columbia:

The link below includes an interactive map with links to 28 regions. Each region posts its current road conditions and any weight restrictions imposed. The current map indicates restrictions from “no weight restrictions” to “50%” of rated axle weight restrictions. It also includes access to recently updated load restrictions and road reports. British Columbia is excellent about providing up-to-date information about their frost laws and when they are in effect. It is important for truck drivers and trucking company dispatchers to make certain they are operating in accordance with the posted frost laws, seasonal load weight, and speed restrictions that are posted. Changes to these restrictions are subject to change hourly during the winter and spring months. You are expected to be aware of these changes and operate accordingly. It is possible that heavy fines may be levied, as well as your truck being ordered out of service and not permitted to travel. We suggest you bookmark this page for future reference.

  • South Vancouver Island.
  • Central Vancouver Island.
  • North Vancouver Island.
  • Howe Sound,
  • Sunshine Coast.
  • Lower Mainland.
  • Fraser Valley.
  • South Okanagan.
  • Kootenay Boundary.
  • Central Kootenay.
  • East Kootenay.
  • Selkirk.
  • Okanagan-Shuswap.
  • Nicola.
  • Thompson.
  • South Cariboo.
  • Central Cariboo.
  • North Cariboo.
  • Fort George.
  • Robson.
  • South Peace.
  • North Peace.
  • Nechako.
  • Lakes.
  • Bulkley Nass.
  • Skeena.
  • North Coast.
  • Stikine.


British Columbia:

See also:

Tire chain laws.
Tire chain laws by location.
Trucking regulations.
Trucking regulations in British Columbia.
Federal bridge formula.

Please share your knowledge with others by commenting below

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *