Shipping Quote in Sub Header

2022 Maine State Shipping Regulations

Shipping Quote Minified

2022 Maine DOT Regulations for Shipping Oversize and Overweight Loads | Trucking Company and Pilot Car Reference.

Maine oversize shipping regulations.
The great state of Maine official seal.

Please share your knowledge with other visitors below.

Legal Load Limits in Maine

Maine DOT legal size and weight limitations:

  • Length: 69 feet combined overall and the maximum length of your trailer can not exceed 48 feet.
  • Width: 8 feet and 6 inches in the maximum width allowed by Maine DOT.
  • Height: 14 feet is the maximum height allowed to travel in Maine legally.
  • Weight: 80,000 pounds GVW is the maximum weight allowed without a permit.

Routine Trucking Permits in Maine

Oversize and overweight trucking permits that are routinely issued by the Maine state DOT office:

  • Length: 125 feet in length is the maximum for a routine trucking permit.
  • Width: 16 feet wide is the maximum for a routine permit and anything wider than this will require a police escort. If over 18 feet wide you will not be allowed to travel on the turnpike.
  • Height: 16 feet high in the most on a routine permit (13 feet and 6 inches is the limit on the Maine turnpike) and this depends on your routing. If you are close to this or over you will possibly have to have a route survey done and you will be required to notify all utility companies that have obstructions along your route.
  • Weight: Tandem axles: 52,000 pounds, tridem axles: 75,000 pounds, quadem axles: 100,000 pounds. The gross weight for 5 axles is 130,000 pounds, for 6 axles: 140,000 pounds, and for 7 axles is the maximum gross weight allowed is: 167,000 pounds maximum.

Maine DOT Superload Information

Anything that is over 125 feet long, 16 feet wide, 16 feet tall, or over 125,000 pounds in weight is considered a superload by the Maine DOT. Permit approval could take 30 days depending on your proposed route and how far you want to exceed legal limits. You may wish to see: Maine state oversize and heavy haul trucking laws.

Permitted Travel Times and Restrictions in Maine

Maine DOT permitted travel times and restrictions:

One 1/2 before and 1/2 hour after sunset rule applies. Except for during July and August, you may travel on Saturdays and Sundays but may not during these two months. There is no holiday travel on the following holidays: 

  • New Years Day
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day
  • Veterans Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Black Friday
  • Christmas Day

NOTES: Turnpike travel: you may travel on the Maine turnpike during the daylight hours from Monday until Friday at 12 noon. You may not travel on the weekends. Max width is 14 feet 6 inches and for height see “Routine permits” above. You can reach the Maine turnpike office at 207-871-7771. Mobile home shipments can only travel on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday – after that you may not travel. Night shipments may be approved but have to clear the Maine state police for permission first.

When Pilot Cars Are Required in Maine

If your shipment is over any of the following dimensions you will be required to have a pilot car or escort vehicle by the Maine DOT office.

If the highway is divided, a single pilot car or escort vehicle is positioned at the rear of the vehicle. If the highway is undivided, a single pilot car or escort vehicle is positioned at the front of the truck and trailer.

  • Width: 12 feet to 14 inches requires 1 pilot car or escort vehicle., 14 feet and 6 inches to 15 feet and 11 inches requires 2 pilot cars or escort vehicles.
  • Height: Over 16 feet requires a state police escort.
  • Length: Over 79 feet and 11 inches require 1 pilot car or escort vehicle. Over 110 feet requires 2 pilot cars (escort vehicles).  Over 125 feet requires a state police escort.

NOTES: Signs must say “Oversize Load” in 10-inch high black letters on a yellow background.
They must be at least 7 feet wide by 18 inches high and posted on both the front and rear.
18-inch by 18-inch flags must be posted on all four corners of the load. Pilot cars must have 2-way radio that has contact with at least a ½ mile range. The truck must have a flashing amber light on top of the cab.

How to Apply for Trucking Permits in Maine

Maine Department of State Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Over-limit Permit Unit
29 State House Station
Augusta, ME  04333
Phone: 207-622-5332
E-mail: overpermits@maine.gov
Office hours: Monday thru Friday 7:30 Am until 5 PM
Eastern Time

NOTES: The Maine turnpike requires a separate permit and has its own size/weight limits.  (800) 698-7747 or 207-871-7771. Permits can be purchased at Maine Turnpike toll plazas and the cost is $10. Signs must say “Oversize Load” in 10-inch high black letters on a yellow background. They must be at least 7 feet wide by 18 inches in height and posted on both the front and rear. 18-inch by 18-inch flags must be posted on all four corners of the load. Pilot cars must have 2-way radio that has contact with at least a ½ mile range. The truck must have a flashing amber light on top of the cab.

The information contained in these pages is research information primarily for use by oversize and overweight trucking company drivers, dispatchers, and pilot car companies. While every effort is put into maintaining the accuracy of this information you must absolutely verify this information with the Maine State DOT Permits office before commencing movement.

maine-state

One Response

  1. Hello Rhonda, pardon the late reply on this topic as I just now saw your post and am approving it. I’m not sure about the reference to “Maine” anywhere on the website other than on the state of Maine regulations pages. Could you help me and our other users out by clarifying your question as well as letting us know what you learned from your research? Your input is greatly valued and appreciated, thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.