2021 New Jersey state shipping regulations, limitations, and laws for oversize and overweight trucking.
New Jersey State Trucking Permits Regulations – oversize trucking and
New Jersey State Trucking information
Length: 63’ on a stretch trailer with no overhang. Maximum
overall is 120′
Weight: GVW 80,000 lbs.
Width: 8’ Non-designated, 8’ 6” designated.
Height: 13’ 6”
Routine oversize shipping, trucking, and transport permits.
Weight: Use the federal bridge formula.
How to apply for trucking permits.
You will be required to use a commercial permit service for obtaining
trucking permits. Call 609-530-2556 for the State information line. A permit
is valid for 3 days. The basic fee is $10 plus permit service cost. Permits are
valid for 3 days. Be aware that New Jersey is a “per ton” State and requires
you to pay $5 for every ton you are over the legal limit.
Pilot Car – Escort Car Requirements.
Width: 2 Lanes over 14′ one pilot car or escort vehicle in front. 4 Lanes
over 14′ one pilot car or escort vehicle in the rear. All routes over 16′ one
front and one rear pilot car or escort vehicle is required.
Length: 2 lanes over 100′ one pilot car or escort vehicle is required in the
rear. All Routes Over 120′ one in front and one rear pilot car or escort
vehicle is required.
Height: Over 14’ one high pole pilot car or escort is required in front.
Travel permitted from sunrise until sunset. Heavy loads only may continue
to travel. No oversize loads are permitted on Toll roads. Detailed travel
restrictions and movement time will be on the permit.
Bureau of Freight Services
Trenton, NJ 609-530-6089