Missouri Oversize and Overweight Permits
Contact (877) 792-5056 for Oversize Permits in Missouri.
Are you transporting an oversize or overweight load in Missouri? Wide Load Shipping is here to help you acquire the necessary shipping permits to avoid fines. Our logistics agents are familiar with the process and the necessary permits based on the weight and dimensions of your load. Here is more information about limits, superloads, and pilot cars.
Oversize Load Limits in Missouri
Missouri maximum load limits before trucking permits are required.
- Length: 53 feet.
- Width: 8 feet 6 inches.
- Height: 13 feet 6 inches.
- Weight: 80,000 pounds GVW.
When Pilot Cars or Escort Vehicles Are Required in Missouri
Heavy-haul or oversize loads may be required to be accompanied by an escort vehicle or pilot car if:
- Length: 90 feet overall length requires 1 rear/ chase pilot car or escort vehicle if the highway is not divided.
- Width: 12 feet and under requires no escort. 12 feet and 4 inches will require 1 rear/chase escort vehicle. 1 escort vehicle and 1 pilot car are required on non-designated roads.
- Height: 15 feet 6 inches on 2 lane undivided roads requires a high pole pilot car. 15 feet on divided highways requires 1 pilot car with a height pole. May need a route survey and bucket trucks.
- Overhang: Anytime the length of the load exceeds 53 feet 1 pilot car is required. Over 90 feet overall may require 1 pilot car and 1 escort.
NOTES: If the shipment consists of 2 dimensions being over the legal limits 1 pilot car and 1 escort vehicle are required.
What’s the Cost of Trucking Permits In Missouri?
Below is a list of accurate oversize and overweight permits in Missouri. Wide Load Shipping has a team of qualified specialists to help you acquire permits for your loads. Call us at (877) 792-5056.
- Single trip oversize permits in Missouri (including pre-issue): $15
- Single trip oversize permits for loads in excess of 16 feet in width, 16 feet in height, or 150 feet in length $250
- Farm implements multi-stop oversize permit: $25
- Single trip overweight permit for loads upto 160,000 pounds: $15 plus $20 per every 10,000lbs in excess of the legal gross weight
- Single trip overweight permit for loads in excess of 160,000 pounds: $15 plus $20 per every 10,000lbs in excess of the legal gross weight, bridge and road analysis fee of $425 for moves of between 0 to 50 miles, $625 for 51 to 200 miles, and $925 for over 200 miles
- Annual overweight blanket emergency permit (round trip): $624 (fee is prorated quarterly)
- Annual oversize single commodity blanket emergency permit: $128 (fee is prorated quarterly)
- Annual oversize multiple commodity blanket emergency permit: $400 (fee is prorated quarterly)
- Annual blanket overweight well drillers or concrete pump truck permit: $300 (fee is prorated quarterly)
- Monthly blanket permit: $300
- Highway crossing permit: $250
- Project permit: $125
- Revisions: $2
Oversize and Overweight Permit Limits in Missouri
Here’s the maximum weight your load can be, even with a permit in Missouri:
- Single Axle Weight Permits: 20,000 pounds
- Tandem axles Weight Permits: 46,000 pounds
- Tridem axles Weight Permits: 60,000 pounds
- Quadem axles Weight Permits: 72,000 pounds
- Five axle Weight Permits: 104,000 pounds
- Six axle Weight Permits: 120,000 pounds
- Seven axle Weight Permits: 130,000 pounds
- Eight axle Weight Permits: 160,000 pounds
- Nine axle Weight Permits: 156,000 pounds
Below are the maximum dimensions a load can be even with a permit in the state of Missouri:
- Max Length With Permit: 120 feet
- Maximum Width With Permit: 14 feet
- Maximum Height With Permit: 14’6 feet
Please refer to the super load section if your overweight or oversize load exceeds any of these dimensions or 180,000 pounds. Any permitted load with weight is subject to a detailed bridge analysis.
Missouri Superloads Information
Requirements for extra-heavy or over-dimensional (superloads in Missouri):
All superload shipments are required to have a minimum of 2 million dollars in single-limit combined liability insurance. For simplicity, a superload in Missouri is any shipment in excess of the above dimensions or weights listed above in “routine”. For complete details of state laws.
Pilot Car and Escort Vehicle Requirements and Certifications in Missouri
In order to operate a pilot car or escort vehicle in Missouri, you are required to have a minimum of the following:
Missouri state laws say pilot car/escort vehicles must be a standard size and have unrestricted vision in the front and rear. The vehicle must be in safe operating condition. “Oversize Load” signs must be displayed towards the front or rear, whichever is applicable. Signs must not be visible when not in service. Signs must be a minimum of 5 feet in length and 1 foot in height. Signs must have a yellow background color with thick (1-inch minimum) black clear, professional print quality lettering. All escort vehicles must be equipped with safety-colored red or orange fluorescent flags mounted on both sides of the front of lead pilot car vehicles or both rear sides of chase escort vehicles. All vehicles involved in shipment must have 2-way radio capabilities. Insurance requirements must be a minimum of $50,000 for personal injury per person. $200,000 for accident/property damage and/or combined single limit liability of $250,000.
NOTE: Flaggers or any person directing or altering traffic is required to have a “flaggers certification” and be flagger certified.
Oversize Load Travel Restrictions in Missouri
Travel is restricted if over 12’ 4” wide in most areas to 6:30 am (or a half-hour after sunrise) until 9:00 am, then resume at 3:30 pm until 6:00 pm (or a half-hour before sunset). If over 14’ wide no movement on Saturday or Sunday at all. You may move Monday thru Friday but only. For now, consider this info as a basic guideline for estimates only. Please call the State of Missouri for exact laws. And always be sure to read the instructions on your permit(s).
Ready To Aquire an Oversize Permit For Your Load in Missouri? Call (877) 792-5056!
MORE USEFUL RESOURCES
Missouri Oversize Permits
MISSOURI OVERSIZE PERMITS INFORMATION
We are not a permit service. We do not arrange permits for carriers. The following is for informational purposes only. We also do not answer permit and escort requirements. Always read your permits and provisions sheets carefully. We cannot guarantee the accuracy of the information provided.
Missouri DOT Ph#: 888-275-6636
PERMITS: Missouri oversize permits are valid for seven days. Must have permit prior to entering the state.
OPERATING TIME: One-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset, including Saturday and Sunday, except that loads over 14′ wide will not be allowed weekend travel. Travel times are more limited in metropolitan and tourist areas (see Restricted Travel section below). Overweight only up to 112,000 pounds gross with legal size may travel 24 hours except metro and tourist areas.
RESTRICTED TRAVEL: No travel on major Holidays, and from noon the day before these holidays or holiday weekends. No travel weekdays from 6:30 am to 9:00 am and 3:30 pm to 6:30 pm, in St. Louis city and county (except for route 370), St. Charles County on I-70, route 94 and route 40/61 and , and Jefferson County on I-55 and on routes 21, 30, 141 and 61/67. No travel from 7:00 am to 9:00 am and 4:00 pm – 6:00 pm in the Kansas City area on routes 150, 291, I-470, 291, 152 west to I-435 and inside the area bounded these routes, and inside the city limits of Springfield except on I-44 and Route 65. These metro area curfews do not apply to loads that are overweight only. No permit movement is allowed on Mississippi River bridges in St. Louis on I-70, I-55, I-64 and on route 60/62 to Cairo, IL. During the tourist season, Saturday and Sunday travel are not allowed on routes in Lake of the Ozarks and Branson (within 10 miles of Branson), with the exception of route 65 in Branson area. Tourist season means June 1 through Labor Day at Lake of the Ozarks and through October 31st in Branson area. These curfews are listed in more detail in part 9 of the MO Permit Regulations Booklet, which is available to drivers and should be carried if you do O/D loads in Missouri.
53′ semi-trailer and load (including rear overhang) on Interstate and designated highways
60′ when more than 10 air miles from designated system
8′-6″ on Interstate, designated highways
8′ on other roads
14′ on designated highways
13′-6″ on other roads
Note: Over height must be on drop-deck trailer to be permitted.
Weight: 80,000 Gross
Single – 20,000 (22,000 on secondary)
Tandem – 34,000 (36,000 on secondary)
Tridem – 34,000 (8′ of spacing); 42,500 (9′ of spacings)
Note: Missouri will not give a permit for legal gross weight, but overweight on an axle group.
ROUTINE PERMIT LIMITS
Height: 16′ (15′-7″ maximum on some routes)
5 axles – 104,000
6 axles – 120,000
7 axles (1-3-3) – 130,000
Single – 20,000
Tandem – 46,000 (40,000 on a 10′ spread)
Tridem – 60,000
Quad – 72,000
Note: A 1-2-2-1 (tandem drive tractor, tandem trailer and booster) combination is not permitted in Missouri. You must have a Tridem drive tractor to use a tandem trailer and a booster.
Loads exceeding these dimensions or gross weight over 160,000 pounds are considered as Super Loads.
Length: Over 90′ – one escort on all highways except divided highways
Over 12′-4″ – one escort (two escorts off designated highway system)
Over 14′ – one escort on Interstate and divided highways
two escorts required on two-lane and undivided highways
Over 15′-6″ on two-lane & undivided
Over 15-6″ divided highways – route survey and one escort with high pole. Utility bucket truck may be required to lift wires.
MISCELLANEOUS: If trailer is stretched, Missouri wants to know how much used and unused space is in well, and on front and rear decks.
SIGNS, FLAGS & LIGHTS: “Oversize Load” signs are required on front and rear of the load vehicle when width exceeds 10′-6″, and on the rear of the load when overall length exceeds 90′. Flags are required at the extreme ends or projections of all overwidth and overlength loads.
Missouri has a 53 ft trailer length limit (including your load) so if you have a 53ft trailer you cannot overhang front or rear without a permit.